This site uses cookies. By continuing, your consent is assumed. Learn more

139.3fm shares

3rd and 4th degree criminal sexual conduct

opinion

Statutory rape is a complicated crime. The person the state defines as a victim may not feel like one. In fact, the alleged victim might have willingly engaged in a relationship, including a sexual relationship, with you, but the state defines your relationship as a crime because of who the victim is, not because he or she felt violated — and you may face a felony charge because you fell in love at age 17 with someone who was 15, or had a relationship with someone you thought was old enough to consent.

A conviction for third-degree criminal sexual conduct in Michigan can have serious, life-altering consequences that include:. Third-degree criminal sexual conduct involves sexual activity with minors over age 13 or people with disabilities.

The Law Offices of Shannon...

The offense might be known by another name as statutory rape. You may be charged in Michigan with third-degree criminal sexual conduct under any of the following circumstances:. Third-degree criminal sexual conduct is a felony offense in Michigan. If you are convicted, you may receive a prison sentence of up to 15 years.

You may be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 5 years in prison if you have a previous conviction for a first degree, second degree, or third degree criminal sexual conduct charge in Michigan, or a conviction in another state for rape, carnal knowledge, indecent liberties, gross indecency, or an attempt to commit one of those offenses. Your sentence also may depend on how a judge views 3rd and 4th degree criminal sexual conduct evidence in your case.

An experienced Michigan criminal defense lawyer can explain how this affects the potential outcome of your charge. Statutory rape can be a tricky charge because you can still be charged even if the other person consented and you had no intent to commit a sex crime.

Minnesota places criminal sexual conduct...

However, your situation may not be without hope, and a skilled Michigan criminal defense lawyer may be able to help. If your case is pending, a Michigan sex crimes attorney can help you navigate the system and work to secure the best possible result in your case. It may be possible to get your charge dismissed, to convince a jury to acquit you or to convince a judge that you should be shown leniency.

Your initial consultation will always be free and confidential. Call today or fill out the form below and we will help you.

A conviction for third-degree criminal sexual conduct in Michigan can have serious, life-altering consequences that include: You may be charged in Michigan with third-degree criminal sexual conduct under any of the following circumstances: Defending Your Third-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Charge Statutory rape can be a tricky charge because you can still be charged even if the other person consented and you 3rd and 4th degree criminal sexual conduct no intent to commit a sex crime.

Charged with a sex crime? Charged with third-degree criminal sexual conduct or statutory rape? Sexual penetration of someone related to you to the fourth degree and who was not your. THE MICHIGAN PENAL CODE (EXCERPT) Act of e Criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree; misdemeanor. Sec. e. (1) A person is.

Minnesota places criminal sexual conduct...

Sex crimes in Michigan are known as Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC). CSC in the 1st, 2nd, or 3rd degree can result in a felony conviction, while 4th degree.

News feed